ANINERGY

365 ways to energize – a daily companion to living with health, purpose, and joy

“Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends….”

Leave a comment

Day 119Are you making a difference “and helping your friends get by” with your expertise and knowledge?

Being a novice can many times feel a bit shaky. When we expose ourselves to any new territory, we have to face our fears and courageously explore them before we can relax into feeling adjusted and comfortable. New terrain forces us to learn new skills; and sometimes we might not even know where to begin. A project that for some of us feels exciting because it is second nature, can for a novice be loaded with fear. If the project we are about to embark on feels scary and uncomfortable we cannot relax, and therefore it is not as enjoyable. But with a little bit of help from a friend, the experience can all of a sudden be transformed into both fun and exciting.

We can truly make a difference to each other by extending a helping hand, and I have had the fortune in the past week to meet with several such good friends that have been totally engaged and willing to sit with me for hours to support me in the new cabin-building project I may soon embark on. I have done a couple of renovations in the past, but a building project where we begin from scratch is a whole new ballgame for me.

I take on this job seriously, since I am mainly responsible to design and create this meeting place and home where our girls and family can retrieve to and love for years to come. It feels exciting to design and create a cabin that will outlast my own life and that possibly future generations will also come to enjoy.

With the kind willingness of my experienced friends to help and assist me, I feel so much more at ease. Their new eyes, good questions, and advice have completely turned my confidence around. I am forever grateful.

So now in the shower I am singing, “Oh, I get by with a little help from my friends….” And looking forward to the next time I get the chance help a friend get by!

Leave a Reply

